Wednesday, March 12, 2014

Bring a little something extra to Docs and Sheets with add-ons

You use Google Docs and Sheets to get all sorts of stuff done—whether you're staying up late to finish that final paper or just getting started on a new project at the office. But to help take some of that work off your shoulders, today Google launched add-ons—new tools created by developer partners that give you even more features in your documents and spreadsheets.

To browse through add-ons for Docs and Sheets, select Get add-ons in the Add-ons menu of any open document or spreadsheet. (Add-ons for spreadsheets are only available in the new Google Sheets).

Once you install an add-on it will become available across all of your documents or spreadsheets and you can start using it right away.

Here are just a few examples of how add-ons can help you do more with Docs and Sheets:

Print address labels and name tags 
With Avery Label Merge you can seamlessly import addresses or names from Sheets into Docs for printing. Just pick the type of Avery labels you’ll be printing and your document will be formatted to match the layout of your label pack.
Create a bibliography without leaving Docs 
Citing sources is about to get much easier for the millions of students who use Google Docs to write papers. The EasyBib Bibliography Creator helps you cite books, journals, and websites in MLA, APA, and Chicago style by entering in titles, journal article names, and websites right inside your document.  

Send customized emails 
With Merge by Mailchimp you can send customized emails from Google Docs. Use merge tags to pull info from a spreadsheet into your document. Once your data is merged, hit send and your personalized emails will be delivered.
Get approvals from Docs and Sheets 
Need to gather approvals or feedback? Letter Feed Workflows routes your document to the right people and adds a simple “Approve” button right inside your document or spreadsheet. You’ll be notified as soon as it’s approved, and can publish the final version with a single click.
These are just some of the many add-ons that are available for you to use right now in the Docs or Sheets add-on stores, with lots more on the way.

Thursday, March 6, 2014

Find messages using Gmail's search

Last week, Google introduced the ability to search for messages by size (http://goo.gl/H0qEXD). With the power of Google Search right in your inbox, there are also many other ways to find a particular email or attachment you're looking for. Watch this video to learn more



Wednesday, March 5, 2014

Resetting Hijacked Chrome Browser Settings

Many users extend the functionality of Google's Chrome browser by installing Chrome extensions. Google recently noted that some Chrome extensions come bundled with malicious programs that try to hijack your browser settings. To help keep your browser settings under your control Google added a “reset browser settings” button to Chrome’s settings page in October.

Despite this, settings hijacking remained a top complaint. To make sure the reset option reaches everyone who might need it, Chrome prompted Windows users whose settings appear to have been changed if they’d like to restore their browser settings back to factory default. If you've been affected by settings hijacking and would like to restore your settings, just click “Reset” on the prompt when it appears. If you didn't see the prompt, access Chrome Settings->Advanced Settings and you'll see the button to Reset Browser settings.


Remote Wipe of Mobile Devices

A useful piece from the Google Apps Administrator Help Forum highlights some key considerations about remotely wiping data from a mobile device.
If your user has Google Sync configured on a supported mobile device or an Android device with the Google Apps Device Policy app installed, you can use the Google Admin console to Remote Wipe the device. Additionally, for Android 2.2 and higher devices, you can choose instead of remotely wiping the entire device to instead only erase Google Apps data from the device by selecting Wipe account.

When to choose Remote Wipe vs. Wipe account

  • Select Remote Wipe when a device is lost or stolen to erase all data on the device and to do a factory reset for the device. All data is erased from the device (and SD card, if applicable), including email, calendar, contacts, photos, music, and a user's personal files.
    Note that Remote Wipe erases the device’s internal storage. Your user's device must already have Google Sync or Device Policy configured. You cannot install Google Sync or Device Policy and run Remote Wipe retroactively. For Android 2.3+ devices, Remote Wipe also erases the device’s primary SD card, with the following limitations:

  • Select Wipe account to only delete the Google Apps data from an Android device, but keep the user’s personal files on their device. Wipe account functions similar to removing an account on Android. It deletes a user’s Google Apps account data, such as email, calendar, and contacts from the device’s internal storage. It’s useful for when a user who’s using his own device at work leaves your company.
With both options, a user's Google Apps data remains available through a web browser or other authorized mobile devices.

Enable users to remotely wipe their devices

User remote wipe allows your users to remotely wipe their own device from their My Devices page. This feature is turned off by default, and it's currently only available for Android 2.2+ users who have the Device Policy app installed on their device.

Pros and Cons of enabling user remote wipe

Pro: Enabling this setting gives you more flexibility, in that your Android users can remotely wipe their device if they lose it, without having to go to you (the Google Apps administrator). If a user loses his device on a weekend or a holiday, he can wipe it immediately. You can also enable this setting by organizational unit, to allow and block specific users and groups in your organization to use this feature.

Con: Android users you enable this setting for can wipe their devices. If you fear that your users may accidentally wipe their phone from their My Devices page, not realizing what they're doing, don't enable this setting for those users.