Thursday, November 19, 2015

Improved Drive sharing in iOS and Android

Sharing on your smartphones and tablets is now even easier. Google added three feature improvements when working in Google Drive on mobile devices, including the ability for iOS and Android users to receive mobile notifications when someone shares a Drive file them.

Sharing notifications (Android and iOS)
People using the Drive app can now choose to receive mobile notifications when someone shares a Drive item with them, allowing them to open the file or folder by simply tapping on the notification. If a file/folder owner has notifications turned on and someone requests access to their content, the owner will be notified of the request instantly on their mobile device so they can quickly grant access.
People will be informed of this new feature the first time they use the updated versions of the Drive app, and can choose to turn it on or off in Settings.  

Consistent sharing experience across platforms (iOS)
We’re implementing a more consistent sharing experience in Drive (and the Docs editor apps too!) across platforms, including the ability for people using the Drive iOS app to add custom messages to recipients directly from the app when sharing a file.

Seamless sharing to people without a Google account (Android)
Until now, a Google Account was needed to view shared files on an Android device. Now, people can do this without a Google Account just like they can on the web.

Monday, November 16, 2015

Restore deleted Google Calendar events

Ever deleted a calendar event by mistake and wanted to get it back - just like you can in Gmail and Drive? Now you can: Google added Trash functionality to Google Calendar on the web, providing an easy way for users to view, permanently delete, or restore individual and recurring deleted calendar events. Trash puts calendar users in control by letting them quickly reverse any event mishaps, and limits escalations to Google Apps admins.
trash_gif.gif
Trash is accessible from the calendar's dropdown menu in the "My calendars" section as well as from Calendar Settings. This functionality is available for both primary calendars and secondary calendars for which people have edit rights.

Admins can track events restored or removed from Trash within their domain using Calendar Audit logs in the Admin console.

Check out the Help Center for more information.

Note: The first time a user deletes an event from a shared calendar after the launch, a one-time email notification will be sent to them from Google Calendar, explaining the Trash options and details around sharing settings.

Thursday, November 12, 2015

Save time with Keyboard Shortcuts

Keyboard shortcuts help you save time—you never have to take your hands off the keyboard to use the mouse! Now you can get more done with fewer clicks. 
I often use ctrl+K to add links to email and documents. For this keyboard shortcut and others go here (link)

in Google Drive, Calendar or Email, press Shift+? to display a complete list of keyboard shortcuts. Find the shortcuts you may use often and memorize the keystrokes for future use. Click here, for more on shortcuts.

Tuesday, November 10, 2015

One click Searching for Emails

If you run the same search on a regular basis to locate specific Gmail messages, chances are you've had to type in the same search criteria a number of times to find your messages.

With the Quick Links lab, you can save your search and quickly run it again with just a click of your mouse! For Example: Save frequent searches or important individual messages or List all emails from your manager or an important client with a single click. Here's how:

To enable the Quick Links lab:
  1. In Gmail, click  and select Settings.
  2. Select the Labs tab.
  3. Scroll to the Quick Links lab and click Enable.
  4. At the bottom, click Save Changes.
  5. Back in your Inbox, click  beneath your list of labels to access Quick Links.
To use Quick Links
  1. In the Gmail search box, enter your search criteria and run the search.
  2. In the Quick Links gadget, click Add Quick Link and name your new link.
  3. Simply click your Quick Link whenever you want to run the search again.
To delete a Quick Link, click the  at the end of the name. Hope this saves you a few minutes on your repetitive searches.